"According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The prompt says that budget allocation for advertising will solve the problem of viewership as it will create awareness in the people. On the surface, It seems to be a logical solution but some of the information given is either insufficient or flawed.

Investors should take a closer look and determine all the factor involved before reaching a conclusion

Firstly, the argument says that fewer people have attended in the past year than in any other year. We don't have any data on how many people attended last year or last to last year? What do these fewer indicate on numbers? We don't have the statistics of how many people so as to compare different years and calculate the discrepancy in attendance. Without this it's illogical to say that awareness is the problem. For example let's say in past year 1 lakh people came to watch the movie but next year only 90k turned up. Decrease of 10k people suggests that awareness might not be the single problem we are dealing with. There might be another problem that has been left untouched or ignored in the argument such as the content of the movie.

Secondly, Increase in positive reviews has been mentioned to suggest that awareness is the big problem but this assumption seems to be flawed because we don't know what kind of movies has been shown in the last year. For example, If the superhero genre has been produced and shown and if people who love comic books had come and watched the movie then their reviews will be biased. Reviews will be inundated with positive one beacuse It has targeted one specific segment of audience and that audience are naturally inclined towards these movies. So we don't know what kind of movies and for what kind of audience has been targeted in past years?

Altogether there is no specific information given so as to draw a definitive conclusion about whether budget allocation will solve the problem or not. Answers to these question will help the investors to do more research and to create a business plan which will cater to viwership problems.