An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument posits that a new type of millet is engineered by an international development organization to counter the deficiency of vitamin A among the people of Tagus. Although, more information and thought are required to validate the recommendation given by the author to combat the problem given in the argument. There may be some hidden factors that are necessary to evaluate the soundness of the proposed plan given by author.

The argument says that subsidies will be provided to farmers for farming the new kind of millet but it doesn't express clearly what kind of items will be covered in these subsidies. Yes, the price of the seed is one of the things which can help farmers but other important factors remain untouched in the argument which should be covered in subsidies, such as, Whether farmers are equipped with the kind of resources such as land to grow this new kind of millet? Environment factors and local conditions are not taken into account while proposing the new millet as a solution. Is there enough water available for irrigation purposes? So there is ambiguity as to what will be covered in subsidies and what will not and up to what extent it can affect the production of millets.

The presumption is that the new kind of millet will not be able to replace old millet as it is already a staple food among the population of millet. It's a bold statement without any proof and to know this a serious scrutiny is required. For example, Does the taste and shape of the new millet are same as the old millet? Are both the millets still in the market and people are allowed to eat whatever they can? Is there any other source of vitamin A that people can take to avoid the new engineered millets?

These are the question that needs to be answered before reaching any conclusion.

Likewise, the author is optimistic about the fact that new millets will be enough to deal with the problem of deficiency of Vitamin A. We don't know if there might be some other factors involved such as infection and disease among the people of Tagus. The author also assumes that if govt promote the new engineered millets then people will buy it. It is assumed that lack of knowledge about new millets is the reason behind the inadaptability. This might be true but it can be false as well.

Examining all the various angles and factors involved with the adaptability of the new kind of millets it can be said that more information with facts will be required to reach a conclusion and to make a plan to fight the deficiency of vitamin A in people of Tagus.