Airline industry representatives have recently argued that flying is safer than driving, citing two separate studies. First, US statistics show that each year there are approximately 40,000 deaths in automobile accidents versus only approximately 200 in flight accidents. Second, studies indicate that pilots are four times less likely than average to have accidents on the road.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to determine whether the argument is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the answers to these questions would have on the validity of the argument.

In this argument airline industry representatives claim flying to be safer than driving. However the studies based on which this claim is made are incomplete without taking into consideration some serious questions.

The first statistic compares the number of deaths in road accidents with those in flight. However we can not draw any firm conclusion purely on the basis of these numbers. What needs to be answered is what percentage of people in both driving and flying are involved in fatal accidents? Simply looking at numbers can be misleading as among millions of people involved in driving, 40000 deaths would be a small number and an average of 200 deaths could be a very big number if the total number of people flying is low.

The other study claims that pilots are four times less likely than average to be involved in road accidents. The question that needs to be answered for this claim is whether the driving competency of pilots should be accounted for while claiming flying to be safer than driving. Are the driving and flying skills of a pilot linked to each other? If not, then the claim of pilots being safer drivers on road does not hold much value when talking about flying safety.

Even if both these studies are found to be reasonable another question that arrises is whether or not number of deaths and pilot skills alone are sufficient to claim flying to be safer than driving. There could be other factors too which should be taken into consideration. Turbulent weather could cause problems to the pregnant ladies. So maybe even things like that should be looked upon.

So, until and unless the above questions are answered, the argument of the airline industry does not have very strong grounds to stand upon.