Some people believe that competition drives young athletes to perform at their best, while others believe that competition discourages those who are not athletically talented from participating in organized sports.

In today’s world everybody wants to win.This win only attitude in inculcated from a very young age in the minds of individuals.This leads to a competitive enviournment in fields like sports, academics and almost every other field.

If this competition is healthy it encourages the performers to bring out their best.If a young athlete who is going to participate in a school sports event knows that if he/she wins a 100 meter race, he/she will be selected for state level sports competition, then this will inspire him/her to give his/her best.On the other hand if there is no stiff competition then there would be no reason for him/her to celebrate even if he/she wins the race.Consider a situation where a certain player is not performing well in a sports team and needs to be replaced by some other player.In this case if the spot in the team is highly competitive, then it would ensure that each candidate for the spot gives his/her best to ensure selection.Since, this competition forced the candidates to work hard, the candidate ultimately selected would most probably do well for the team.On the other hand if there was no competition for the spot, then there could have been a case of complacency on the part of the player filling up the spot, as he/she wouldn’t be driven by stiff competition to do his/her best.

At the same it I do believe that this stiff competition can discourage certain less talented people from participating in sports.For such people it is necessary to understand that participating in more important than winning.Not everyone who runs a marathon wins it.There is only one winner but still there are hundreds of people that participate in it.The first step is to participate and then one must give his/her best to try and win any competition.However the fear of losing should not prevent one from participating.

All in all I support the claim that competition brings out the best from the athletes.This competition is what makes victory taste sweeter.