In a laboratory study of two different industrial cleansers, CleanAll was found to remove 40% more dirt and kill 30% more bacteria than the next best cleanser. Furthermore, a study showed that employees working at buildings cleaned with cleanAll used far fewer sick leaves than employees working in the buildings cleaned with the other cleaners. Therefore, to prevent employee illness, all companies should use CleanAll as their industrial cleaners.

Write the response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument the author suggests that all companies should adopt CleanAll as a cleansing agent based on certain facts the the author sites. The argument however depends on additional assumptions, which if found to be not true can weaken the conclusion.

The main assumption here is that the fewer sick leaves by the employees of the companies which used the CleanAll cleanser was related to only to the clean surroundings of the building in which they worked. The argument assumes that the other companies whose employees took more sick leaves had fallen ill primarily due to the dirtier and unhygenic surroundings of the building in which they worked.

Based on this assumption the argument urges all companies to use CleanAll as their industrial cleanser. However this assumption may not necessarily be true. The fewer sick leaves in the employees of the companies using CleanAll could be due to their healthy lifestyle. It could be possible that the employees in these companies take better care of their health which gets reflected in the fewer sick leaves taken by them. CleanAll may thus have no direct relation to employees taking sick leaves.

If the assumption proves out to be unwarranted, then inspite of using CleanAll the sick leaves taken by the employees of the company may not get reduced at all. In fact they may rise if the employees start following an unhealthy routine after the use of CleanAll. So there would be no reason of using CleanAll to mainly prevent employee illness.