Airline industry representatives have recently argued that flying is safer than driving, citing two separate studies. First, U.S. statistics show that each year there are approximately 40,000 deaths in automobile accidents versus only approximately 200 in flight accidents. Second, studies indicate that pilots are four times less likely than average to have accidents on the road.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to determine whether the argument is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the answers to these questions would have on the validity of the argument.

The argument by the airline industry representatives states their claim that flying is safer when compared with driving, which is supported by two studies, one by the U.S. statistics and the other by an unnamed source. The prime question that should be asked is whether a claim by the employees working in the industry supporting their own industry could have any kind of bias. As their own bread and butter depends on the fucntionality of the airline industry, a positive claim like this should definitely be questioned and checked for scrutiny. If the same claim has been stated by other factors involved in the process of flying vis-a-vi the passengers who undertake regular flying or studies that only focus on the safety aspects of flying versus driving can bolster the argument.

What they provided in the argument to support it are two statics, one by the U.S. statistics and other unnamed source, which should be enquired about, inorder to check the reliabilty of the source. The first study shows that each year, they are 40,000 deaths via automobile accidents whereas 200 flight accidents occur every year. But the timeframe of the study which can be considered an important factor is not mentioned. This can play a crucial role because if the study took place, consider in a time period of when there was not a flux of airline transport, when air transport had just been introduced onto the world, the no. of accidents would been patently lesser than road accidents. Inorder to redress this issue, the timeframe and where the data has been collected from should be mentioned . Also, how had the data been collected, whether it is through the airlines or some other state controlled souce, can prove be a substantial element of the arguement as the airlines themselves would not boast of the number of accidents which can therefore lead to misinformation. The study also claims that the numbers provided are of approxiamation and why couldn’t they provide the accurate data should be questioned. Thus ,apart from the singular statistics about the number of deaths, the first study does not provide a valid and strong enough arugment to believe the claim by the airline industry representatives.

Same goes with the second argument, which indicated the pilots are four times less likely than average to have accidents on the road. But what their evaluation for an average has not been forementioned. Thus, the comparison between a known factor and an unknown factor is futile. The data also lacks knowledge of the sample size of the pilots being analyzed in the study and when and what kind of pilots were questioned. Whether the pilots worked for passenger flights for regular air transport or whether these pilots worked for the aviation department in the air force. Because if a trained pilot is compared to a regular pedestrian individual, the results will definitely be lopsided.

Adding to the bias of the claims provided is the fact that there is only one indicator of safety that has been intimated in the argument, which is safety from accidents. Safety on a transport vehicle can be contingent of other factors too such as a medical emergency on a flight which is much more risky than when travelling on a road. People with severe cardiovascular issues, people of old age or even someone having claustrophobia can find a road journey much more safer and comfortable. Thus, generalisation of the claim to be applicable to every individual has to examined on the basis of how heterogenous the sample for the studies mentioned is.

Thus, even though the argument is supported by a strong statictical backing in term of the numericals provided, it fails to provide an understanding of the methods, the sample size and purview of secondary factors that can affect the study in itself, attentuating the entirety of it.