To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

To be an effective leader when holding public office, it is important to understand that a certain level of ethical and moral high ground should be maintained by the official himself. To assert that the highest moral and ethical standards should be aimed at is an unnecessary requisite according to me, as there exist other parameters to judge his leadership.

It is patent for the citizens of a certain country or state or contingency to expect that their leader is not involved in treacherous activities. The fundamental reason for this concern is that people appoint a public official so that he can employ his decision making skills in the construction of developmental policies and strategies for the betterment of the society that the individuals are living in. Thus, if someone at a position of power is embroiled into any kind of immoral activities, his sense of judgement is what comes into question. Which will eventually result into doubting of how good of a leader can the public official really be? A ardent example of this can be President Nixon , who even , during his presidency, brought about radical policies which attempted to resolve the environmental concerns of the United States,his involvment is the Watergate scandal, led to a breach of trust regarding him in the mind of his fellow citizens

. When his conutrymen were made aware of his role in the scandal, even though he had established something as eventful as the Environmental Protections, his deviation towards immorality could not save him from public’s scorn.

But that does not necessarily make him a bad leader in itself. Even though what good leadership stands for can be subjective in certain ways, there are certain qualities that will prevalent in all leader. A sense of responsilibity towards your people and your role as a leader and the tenacity to hold your position and work for the betterment of the socety that you abide to serve is what makes you a good leader in my opinion.Even though being unethical to a degree where it does not directly have an impact on the decision made in concern with the public,every individual does indulge in a certain level of immorailty and unethical actions in his or life. For eg, someone having an extra marital affair while being a public leader, is a matter of his own personal life, This maybe be immorality in the eyes of some, but this will hardly affect their leadership skills and thus be pardoned for the same.

Talking about scandals, most of the public officials are in the constant eye of the media. Thus , their lives and their actions are constantly exagerrated to a degree where it becomes difficuly to identify the truth from the puffery.Thus, when the media tells you about the involvement of the public official in a scam, you are sure to know that his or her role could have been exagerrated. A public official does not work in a recluse, but works in coilation with his party members. Thus, the immorality of a party member could also be generalised to the wole of party, thus it is impreudent to understand the public officials role in this embrioglio.

To summarize, I think it is important that the position of a public leader, who is elected or appointed, to be responsible for a certain set of the population or the population as a whole , should be held to certain ethical and moral standards, which have a relation with his role in his governancy and his involvement should be correctly assigned and not gerneralized. Outside of that perimeter, the public official should be pardoned, he should be as leader and not entirely as an individual in itself.