To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

A nation is propelled by the dominating government which in fact is the heart of the nation, and the government is composed of the politicians who are elected as leaders by the citizens of the nation. The elected leaders whom can be resembled as the veins of the country who's proper function in a way indicates a healthy heart(government). The statement suggests that the how effective a leader is, is dependent on the how the official maintains ethical and moral standard, to which in my opinion I strongly agree with the statement and to corroborate the statement by following three reasons.

To begin with, and simplify explain, what is the point of view of a young individual who is going to vote for the very first time? what would the individual think before going to vote for the leader of his constituency? First and the most important thing would be the how well is the official in terms of behaving and interacting with the citizens and how well could the official address the citizens and their concerns. For instance, if a official who is consenting for an election is very rhetoric in terms of speech but his/her work does not reflects as well as described in the speech then one could judge the officials work ethics and morals. Which in a way gives the young voter an idea whether or not to vote for the official and appoint him/her as a leader of his constituency.

Secondly, a leaders work ethics displays his passion to serve the nation and which in a explicit way portrays the image of the government and a nation as a whole. In India there are many officials who are well known for their work ethics, to pin point let’s take example of late Mrs. shusma swaraj who was designated as a external affairs minister for the government of India. She was a epitome leader and served the nation by probity. Her diplomacy could be reflected by strong ties with the foreign nations and promptness of his work to resolve a matter as an external affair minister. She has set a benchmark in terms of how a leader should follow certain morals which would lead to reinforce the output of the work. This states that how well one could follow and inure certain ethics in life as a public official.

Thirdly, if a leader is not maintaining the required ethics and moral and trying to be unfair to the citizens by using his deceptive tricks, then it could in a way backfire and the citizens might lose faith from the leaders ability to serve for them. For instance, if a leader from a constituency is not able to deliver the citizens demands then the citizens would not re-elect the leader for next term. For instance, in Indian politics commissioned under national election commission of india there is a 5 year term for a government and every 5 years there are re-elections in which the leaders who were not able to deliver in previous terms are either not given a chance to consent by the political parties or if given a chance not able to win the elections due to not able to deliver in last term. So a leader should always maintain certain morals to deliver the citizens and justify the role as a leader.

To conclude,if a leader wants to gain trust of citizens then it is very cardinal for the leader to follow certain ethics and morals to get elected and serve the nation. If a leader does not follow these ethics and morals then the whole point of being a public official holds no water as these are the characteristics that a leader must.