The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people’s efficiency so that they have more leisure time

A daily office-goer in today’s scenario will probably take a form of public or private transportation, maybe the metro, in the metro, to make the journey productive and utilize his time acquiring an update about what’s happening around him, he opens a news app which features articles from various platforms. He browses through these articles, reads the ones of his interest, he may stumble upon something else of his interest and now his attention is diverted towards a game or maybe another mobile app or a recent update on Instagram. Examining this entire setup which may last for around 30 minutes, helps us identify how technology has made our lives more efficient. It has given rise to pathways that lead to a better use of our time, thus offering us an array of options to maximize our said leisure time.

But as the statement posits the primary goal of the technological advancement should not be to increase people’s efficiency so that they could have more leisure. Technology, on one hand, does increase our efficiency, by offering a helping hand in our day to day activities. From the ceiling fan on our walls to the air transport that we enjoy the benefits of, our lives are highly dependent on the use of these mediums. Technology can be largely credited to make moving from one part of the world to another part of the world convenient, it was made advances in communications and introduced us to a concept such as the internet, which has been a boon to many. The advances of technology have introduced us to phenomenons has enthralled us from the Lunar landing which was a major turning point of the 20th century to novel concepts like artificial intelligence.

These discoveries and inventions, though radical in their true nature,did not take place so that they could increase people’s leisure time . There exist a plethora of other aspects of human existence that these advances cater, which may not increase our leisure time, but benefit us in different ways. Like the research in artificial intelligence which branches to help doctors detect autism in children at an earlier age, in order to provide them with the necessary resources at the latest stage possible. The detection of autism by humans have certain incompetencies, whose gaps can be filled by using artificial intelligence to observe these children and draw inferences to help doctors speed up the process. This is no way increases our leisure time but it does make the job of doctors more efficient and helps us take a step forward when it comes to dealing with disorders like autism.

The same can be said when new discoveries in space technologies are made. Scientists who spend their time in observing the planet Jupiter in order to discover another of one of its moon, as there exists the possibility of discovering more of them, are not indulging in these activities to make our lives more efficient. They are doing it because it helps us understand and articulate the world around us in a better sense. Technology, for a layman, may seem as a medium to make our life’s easier, has a vast set of advantages, also accompanied by certain disadvantages.

Technology might help us discover the existence of extraterrestrial life beyond our own galaxy or might be successful in finding the cure of cancer or might help us settle and inhabit the planet Mars, but at its very core, it’s true motive should be to open humankind to a number of possibilities that we may have never imagined to be true, rather than just to increase our leisure time.