Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The prompt that is presented above is full of logical fallacies that made it harder to bolster. For three main reasons-

Firstly, global warming is not a something that has been observed just for a couple of years. For almost more than a century, global warming has been affecting the climate and countless lives that directly rely on the climate change as it has a great impact on their habitat, food chain and so on. The logic presented in the argument was the arctic deer’s population is facing a decline because they are failing to follow their age-old tradition of migration. However, this logic is defected because it overlooked the theory of “Evolution” here entirely. Evolution can play a major role in these sorts of cases and reserve the power to alter the nature of these animals. It is possible that a new species could evolve from the arctic deer, those don’t need to migrate at all by making their current habitat good enough to live. Perhaps the known species of arctic deer are declining but a new species is evolving at the same time.

Secondly, the local hunters are shown as an authentic source in the argument. But the case can be completely different here. They can be the main reason to be the cause of the reduction of population of the deer. There is no indication of checking their words if they are true or not. They can be hunting more than before for extra benefits and profits. But as the continuously reducing population is catching more attention than before, they can be trying to blame the global warming for that.

Thirdly, no solid evidence of any sort of animal census is presented. No base population was stated in the argument with which the current population could be compared. There is no information that states what the population was ten or twenty years before, even if there is any sort of decline or not. Only the information from the locals are being taken into account here. Without conducting any proper research or census, it is not so wise to come into such a nuanced and concise recapitulation.

The reasons presented above ruins the presented argument thus announcing it invalid.