Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author states that the population of artic deers has been declining due to the global warming - as the deers cannot migrate to the age old migration pattern. The argument of the author does not provide a solid reasoning as to why he has come to this conclusion. In order for the recommendations by the author to be valid these questions must be answered.

Firstly, the author assumes that the decline in the number of artic deers in Canada is due to melting of the ice, which is caused by global warming. It is possible that there might have been preditors in the areas encompassing the island. For instance, there might have been a leopard in the area - a known preditor of deer. If the locals can attest to the fact that they have seen a preditor in the area, only the this argument can be evaluated - till then the author's argument does not hold water.

Secondly, there is a possibility that some of the deers might have fallen sick due to disease which might have resulted in increaased deaths of the deers. To which, local hunters assumed that it might have been due to the global warming. For example, an epidemic is often capable to kill a large number of living things. The author's argument does not hold water.

Finally, it is possible that the report by the local hunters is not authentic. In order for the author's argument to hold ground, it i suggested that the local hunters or the city council might conduct a survey which can prove helpful to strehgthen the author's claim.

In conclusion, the argument of the author is flawed on many levels. It is suggested that if the author can provide with a survey cinducted by researchers, only then the author's argument can be evaluated.