Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over

ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas

warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of

the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over

it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining.

Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea

ice to we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the

deer's being unable to follow their ageold

migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument

and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The reports from the hunters about the declining deer population coinciding with the global warming trends, would not necessarily mean that the global warming is the cause of the population decline of deers. Many clear and direct evidences would be required to strengthen this argument.

To conclude that the melting of ice in the arctic regions, is responsible for the reduction in deer population of the Arctic region by preventing the deers to travel from island to island in search of food would require many substantial evidences. Firstly, it is only mentioned that the hunters have observed a decline in deer population. But no direct cause of the decline in the population of deers is mentioned. It might so happen that the number of hunters in the region has increased causing a decline in population. Also, maybe some malady has struck and many deers have died owing to a disease. Maybe , not enough grass is available as food for the deers and they are dying of starvation. More evidence is required, such as stating exactly how the population is declining. More evidences and data backed up by scientific observations and conclusions, is needed to validate the argument that global warming is causing a decline in the population of the deer in the Arctic regions.

Furthermore, it is mentioned that the weather is cold enough for atleast some part of the year to allow the deers to travel across the frozen islands. So, the argument needs to provide direct evidences pointing out that , at the particular time of migration, the weather hasn’t been cold enough to cause continous ice formations, thus depriving deers of their tendencies to travel from island to island on frozen ice.

On the other hand, global warming is causing an increase in global temperatures which is also causing the melting of the ice at the Arctic region. So, this in general will certainly hamper the age old migration patterns of the Arctic deer. This can limit their abilities to search for food and may cause deaths due to dearth of food and also by accidents due to non-continous icelands, hence, a decline in population. But this argument needs to be supported by direct evidences stating that the ice at the Arctics is melting which is preventing the migration habbits of the deers.

So, the argument seems to be lacking a good base of supportive evident and facts. More dependable and direct information and research could have validated the argument.