Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The writes when he says scandals are useful, his implication seems right, but scandals are not just useful; they also have an impact on the society which can be negative. It can have detrimental effects on the trust amongst the people about their leaders and governments. Thus, the writer’s judgement is only partially true.

It can be said that the writer’s perspective is like the age old saying- “Every dark cloud has a silver lining”- but herein the darker clouds of scandals are detrimental for any society causing lossess of economy, mistrust amongst the people and a creation of negative atmosphere amongst general public. If you consider modern day scandals, they are mostly related to politicians or a person having powers and misusing those to make undue benefits for himself or people associated with him. When this act is caught and exposed: brought to the attention of the general public; they certainly loose an amount of trust for their leaders. This has an negative impact on the society. For an instance, an important member of the government cabinet, gets trapped in a scandal then the people will view the entire cabinet with suspicion. This will make them distrust their elected representatives. This can affect the investment market as the investor no longer trust the aspirations of the ruling government. This can lead to loss of economy and affect the lives of people in general. Also, if the scandal is involving a lot of money or wherein, a lot of black money is being laundered out of the country, then the scandal itself has affected the economy badly. So, scandals can have a detrimental effect on the economy. The writer says that scandals garner a lot of attention, but the ones which involve a lot of money or have larger implications, get that lot of attention and the smaller or lesser ones, don’t get that much attention. However, the larger scandals may have hugely bad results on economy, and also result in acrimony amongst the people towards the authority, which in turn may affect the atmosphere in the country.

Conversely, when the writer says that the scandals are useful, he is right to a certain extent. They give an unprecedented amount of publicity to an issue which any speaker or activist cannot, even if they work to the best of their abilities. With the advancement of technology and betterment of information transfer networks, the knowledge about a scandal will spread like a conflagration, within no time, reach out to the farthest and deepest parts of the country. This, in turn will ensure that there is a faster enquiry being made and those found guilty are punished commensurately. Furthermore, a scandal being exposed and punishment meted out will make the general public more aware and also the authority or people working in the government more vigilant and more importantly, the offenders wary that if caught, they will be punished and there is no escape. This will, more likely ensure that for a certain period of time, at least, the system remains clean and the scandalous will be afraid of commiting any wrong doings.

But again, this is like looking at the brighter side of dark things. A scandal happening is like a shame on part of the government and society in general that such nasty elements exist in the society. So, scandals can be useful but they aren’t just useful. They have many negative impliacations on the society.