Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

The author concludes that the arctic deer populations are declining due to melting of ice caused by global warming. This conclusion is flawed and has no solid basis. There are many assumptions made by the author and the premises lack substantiative information. Therefore, the author’s statement about the deer populations is not acceptable and a proper evaluation of the situation needs to be done based on facts.

Firstly, the author gives no evidence that the deer populations are declining. He only mentions the speculative observations of the local hunters. There is no reason to believe that the hunters are telling the truth, or that they are even reliable sources of information. The author can conduct a survey of the islands for signs and traces of the deer to arrive at any conclusion about the populations. If the survey also points towards a decline, then it will give some root to the author’s claim.

Another assumption that the author makes, is that the population decline is caused by the melting of ice which bridges the islands. Again, there is no factual data or observations given for this claim. The deer populations can decrease due to various reasons such as, loss of habitat and grass, introduction of a competitor or predator into their environment, human interference. There is no causal relation shown between melting of sea ice and the population decline. In fact, there is no evidence provided which shows that the sea ice is actually melting. Global warming is certainly melting sea ice, but it is not certain as to the extent to which the island bridges are affected.

The statements made by the author are all unsubstantiated and need a backbone to stand on. The author can measure the change in the amount of ice and the deer populations, and calculate the correlation between the two. Such a quantitative value will effectively weaken or strengthen the author’s claims.

In conclusion, the author’s claim about the deer populations is full of holes and does not hold much water. There are no pieces of evidence given which show that the deer populations are decreasing. Along with that, there is no factual observation of the ice bridge actually melting due to global warming. The author can give a population survey of the deer, and calculate a correlation coefficient for the change in population and the amount of ice. This will greatly enhance or completely debunk the author’s claims.