Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The directior of the Super Screen Movie Production Company stated a response in the memo that they are going to allocate a greater share in advertising for public reach as they have fewer number of audience for watching movies. According to their claim, their quality of of movies are not a problem as reviews are positive rather advertising needs to be more emphasized. While it is possible that author's contention is true and that advertising needs greater share for more public reach; his or her agruement ,as it stands now, rest on the three unstated assumptions that weaken the arguements persuasiveness.

Firstly, the author assumes that the past year trend will follow on the rest of following years. It may be a case that people have not attended movie theaters for any pandemic condition like for COVID19 where it was necessary to maintain social distancing which would not be possible if they are going to watch movies out. Therefore, when this type of unavoidable conditions appear, increasing share in advertisement will not provide any solutions rather they can release the movies on online platform or others.

Secondly, the author assumes that parcentage of movie reviews actually dictates the quality of the movie. But what if the people are not satisfied with the movies and thats why they have not given the reviews. In that case, only a few people just gave positive reviews and for that the parcentage maybe showing a greater number. In that case, movie qualities are a vital term for reaching out more people as people wants to watch good movies. In addition what if there are other movie production companies which are making more good qualites movies and people are watching. So the advertising director may work more on imrpoving the qualities of their movies with addition to advertisement.

Thirdly, the author assumes allocating a greater share for advertisement will make people more enthusiast about watching movies from Super Screen Movie Production Company. What if their advertisement of good movies are not making people enthusiast about watching movies. Like people of that certain area are interested in more online platforms and series rather than movies. Therefore increasing advertisement will not solve that problem

In conclusion, the author needs to think again for increasing advertisement.