In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patro

The author in the article claims Prunty County should follow what Butler County had done in order to improve the safety in highways. Though the instruction seems plausible at first glance, more specific evidence needed for fortifying his points.

To start with, the writer believes that Bulter County had successfully decreased the accidents during past five years because of the policy to increase lane widths, resurface rough highways and revise the visibility at some treacherous intersections. However, we need to know the exact number of the car incidents for the comparison. Maybe there were only 10 cars passed through the highway per day in Bulter County; and 25 percents fewer reported accidents definitely cannot represent the policy is impeccable. Even if there are thousands of cars flew through the lane everyday, we still need to evaluate the details such as how they define a car accident. Maybe the lawmaker in Bulter County wanted to get promoted, so he tried to remove some of trivial accidents. Thus, unless we get the real number of car accidents and comprehend the way of detecting accidents, we cannot conclude the policy is successful that quickly.

In addition, the author maintains lowering the speed in highway can not lessen the accidents because the vehicle accidents were not mitigated in the last year. However, we have to know more about why the car accidents are still the same as previous one in the first place. Maybe not every driver knew the new policy had been executed, so they kept the original speed on the freeway, which led to more accidents. After the regulation campaign promoted widely, the car incidents might fall down swiftly. Besides, it takes five years for Bulter County to acclaim their policy is effective. Similarly, the Prunty County should test the new regulation for longer to substantiate it fails or not. One year is too short to draw a conclusion.

Moreover, the policy in Bulter County may not be the perfect fit for Prunty County. Maybe the lane in the Prunty County is already wide, it's useless to enlarge it. In terms of improving the dangerous intersections, maybe it is Bulter County that has much more circuitous roads that needed to be warned. However, there are only straight roads in Prunty County. Even if the, it will not help on improving the safety in freeway. Therefore, we need to compare more difference between two counties in order to make better decisions.

To sum it up, despite the good intention for the proposal, we still need more information about why the policy in Prunty did not work, what makes the regulation in Bulter County so successful and how different the two counties are in order to make the idea more convincing