TPO28-Parents today are more involved in their children's education than parents were in the past

It has been a controversial topic that whether parents today are more involved in their children's education than were parents in the past. As for me, I agree with the statement, and below are my reasons.

First of all, parents care about money, and modern parents possess more money so that they can invest on their children's education. For example, the average Taiwanese parents earn around 200,000 NT dollars per month, meaning they do have some extra money to cultivate their children. They will bring their kids to cram schools for further intensive education. Also, they will take their children to violin or piano classes. As a result, parents nowadays do have more budget on their children's education. On the other hand, 20 years ago, people in Taiwan did not rich enough. The average salary for every family only about 50,000 NT dollars. Parents had to use their salary to pay the rent, and purchase grocery things. Therefore, parents in old days did not have sufficient budget for children's education.

In addition, parents today have fewer kids than parents in the past, so they are albe to get more involved in their kids' education. For instance, I am the only child in my family, so my mom put a lot of effort on educating me different kinds of knowledge. I went to private primary school because my mom wanted her only child to have English class taught by native speakers. Thus, I possess a lot of education resources form parents because I am the only child. On the contrary, when my mom was young, since she had other seven siblings, their parents did not pay a lot of attention on their education. My grandfather had to try his best to earn a living for eight kids, not to mention their education. As a result, parents in the past were not involve in their kids' education because there were too many kids for them to look after.

Last but not the least, parents nowadays care more about their fame than parents in old days, so their will get involved in their children's education in order to maintain their good fame. For example, in Taiwan, some parents will punish their kids if they do not get good grades because they want their children to be doctors or lawyers in the future so that they can tell neighbors that they have a successful sons or daughters. In contrast, two decades ago, Taiwan was in a deflating economy, all parents cared were if they could survive tomorrow. They did not have further effort on how to make their kids educated. As a result, parents in old days did not pay a lot of attention on their kids’ education.

To conclude, it is obvious that parents todays are more dedicated to their children's education. After all, modern parents make more money, modern parents have fewer kids, and modern family are concerned about their reputation more than parents in the past.