On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author claims here that to reduce the number of accidents on Balmer Island, the town council should limit the number of mopeds rented by the islands' moped rental companies. Stated this way, the argument reveals several instances of poor reasoning and ill-defined terminologies. The author supports his argument with significant results of the neighboring Seaville Island. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion. Hence the argument can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that limiting the number of mopeds rented during the summer season will have a considerable effect on the number of accidents in Balmer Island. This is merely an assumption made out without much solid ground. For example, the increasing number of accidents can be due to other reasons such as bad road conditions, improper road diversion, small road width, etc. In this circumstance, the given argument can be significantly weakened. Hence the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated the road conditions of Balmer Island.

Secondly, will decreasing the number of mopeds rental in the summer season reduce the annual number of an accident on the Island? It can be possible that in the peak summertime tourist opt for public transport such as buses and taxis and the major number of accidents happen in the rest of the year. Due to a small number of people for the rest of the year, people tend to drive mopeds faster and with little care. This again can weaken the claim.

Finally, the author cites that limiting the number of mopeds as that of neighboring islands will give significant results. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion in several critical respects, and raises several skeptical questions. Since, the author did not consider various factors such as the number of population, road conditions, methods of limitations, etc. What if the population in Seaville Island is less than that of Balmer Island which gives a reason for fewer accidents. And taking an example of a time we can also assume that the accidents in Balmer are happening in different time periods than Seaville’s Island. Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster, the author must provide clear concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a detailed analysis of the different potent conditions of accidents. Finally, to better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about why the number of accidents is less in Seaville Island and what do they differ in than Balmer Island.