In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that in order to improve safety and decrease road accidents Prunty County should adapt the road improvement project of Butler County and increase lane width instead of just reducing speed. Stated in this way, the argument reveals several instances of poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology. To justify this conclusion, the author reasons that Butler County had 25 percent fewer accidents in the past five years. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion. Hence, the argument can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that even after restraining the speed limits has been affected beneficially. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, what if the accidents happening are due to something that is not mentioned in the argument and speed limit has nothing to do with it like drink and drive, improper placements of signboards, improper signs at sharp turns, etc,. Hence, the argument would have been much more cogent if it explicitly mentioned in reports that the reasons for these accidents are due to the speed limits.

The argument claims that the author cites that undertaking the same kind of policy as Butler County will make a difference in the number of road accidents. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between the number of accidents at Prunty County and in Butler County. It fails to consider if the population commuting daily would have been less which in turn decreases the number of accidents. If the evidence would have provided evidence that the population in both of the county are the same then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author cites that Butler bounty had less number of accidents compared to five years ago. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion in several critical respects and raises several skeptical questions. For example, the implementation of the project was completed five years ago then why not the number of accidents decreased at that instance for what reason it decreased after five years? What if in the span of four years in between if Butler County had a greater number of accidents? What are the chances of getting the same results in Prunty county and at what basis those chances will be evaluated?. Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claim made by the author is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must have provided clear and better concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a detailed analysis of the road conditions in Prunty county, population of both counties and immediate road conditions after implementing projects in butler county, etc, Finally, to better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about why the number of accidents where less in butler county.