The business district of downtown Laughton is thriving during the weekdays but

is virtually uninhabited during the weekends. As a result, many of the shops and

restaurants close during this time, though the proprietors must still pay rent. Since

many such businesses have struggled over the last year, the mayor of Laughton

has proposed that a nearby, abandoned twenty-acre plot of land that houses a few

dilapidated warehouses be converted into a park. Once completed, the park will serve

as a weekend attraction for many families living in Laughton. As a result, many will

frequent the restaurants and shops, thereby reinvigorating these struggling businesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what

the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The mayor idea is really interesting, a new park will make the town more alive but it is based on a certain interpretation that the businesses suffer from weekend and that establishing the park would reinvigorate the town, but would it?

First of all, the reason that businesses are not lively at the weekends as they within the weekday it might be referred to the idea that business owner might want to rest within weekend. Not all the businesses need to be open within weekends. Some of them it is not efficient at all to make the business run during the weekends such that the expenses could be more than the revenues.

A second reason to consider this plan frugal is that the mayor considered the weekend days the businesses pay rent for is the reason for the bad economical situation they suffer rather than studying this problem more seriously and providing real solutions. It is more than usual to have days more productive that other, and it is also common to close the business when it is better financially than opening these business, what they really need to overcome their financial problems is by reducing the taxes on them, increasing the number of investors, and etc.

A third reason that weaken this plan is that most people when they go to the park take their food with them like sandwiches or light snakes; park is a place to breathe fresh clean air and to feel natural, it does not make sense to go and have cheesy burger after jogging in the park for example. In other words park it might not be helpful in increase the number of consumers of these businesses. In the contrary it might increase the number of businesses near this park make the situation more competitive.

The park as described in the argument is great solution that will make the financial issues these businesses have disappears, but it cannot do any of that unless there are more details accompanied by the park to make weekend more productive such that these businesses can really consider opening in weekends.