The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out, and the city council reasons that since LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase, the switch would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to help evaluate the efficacy of the city council’s proposal to save money on electrical costs. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the council’s prediction.

The city council of Town X proposed to switch incandescent bulbs to LEDs in public buildings, in order to save money on electrical cost. They have proposed two reasons, for this switch (from bulbs to LEDs), that are, LEDs burn brighter and cost no more to purchase. However, the question arises whether the Town X does have this much money to make a switch, considering from overall needs of the town, even when the switch doesn’t costs more.

The council also mentioned that the city’s electrical expenses will be reduced, by such a switch of bulbs. But, if the LEDs burn brighter than it can be possible that, they need more energy for it, which will in turn, increase the electrical expenses of the town. As, council have said, that switch will be made gradually; if it will be made in such a manner to benefit the town. Because, if the switch is gradual, then town needs to maintain a stock of these LEDs, which means increased expenses for storage and on wear and tear of these bulbs. There are any problems in switching these bulbs altogether instead of sections. Because, if they buy in retail, it may cost less than buying in wholesale as the old bulbs burn out.

As it has been given that, the switch will be made as the old bulbs burn out; the point is that, the reason behind the burn out of the old bulbs will not affect the new bulbs. What is the guarantee that the new bulbs can handle that problem (like fluctuation)? Another point is that, if the new bulbs can fit in the older plugs and can burn (light up) by the supply of old fittings or they needed to be replaced, increasing the expenses of the town. While, in addition to it, the another expense could be of, some kind of air conditioner to normalize the increase in temperature, caused by the heating of new bulbs, as they must heated up to burn brighter.

Further, what is the life expectancy and efficiency of the new bulbs in comparison to the older ones? What is the warm-up period of new bulbs than to the old bulbs? Does it have some bad effects to humans and the environment? For example, the light variations of these new bulbs, affect the employees vision, working in these public buildings in what manner, if it cause some kind of damage to their eyes. Besides, council can also look for its benefit, by selling the older bulbs in exchange of new bulbs giving a little more on the LEDs.

Another question is, if the council has applied this plan before as a trial to know the various affects and outcomes of it. Does the electrical expense reduced after the trial or they are applying this plan in case of some hidden benefit to them. For example, for benefitting their related companies of LEDs. Because without any conclusive evidence to support the council’s argument it is hard to conclude that the proposed plans will sure to reduce the electrical expenses with the above addressed reasons.

Finally, the proposal of the council seems carrying lack of information. More points need to be addressed before making it happen, such as, the market price, the duration period of bulbs, the possible energy consumption by these bulbs, the expense of new fittings and others. The council needs to explore more possible benefits and drawbacks of the plan before applying it in the town.