Cot-Ten, a cotton production company, has recently faced profitability issues based on the use of

Chemical X in its manufacturing process. The main by-product produced when using Chemical X is

covered under stringent environmental regulations, making it very difficult and expensive to dispose of. A

similar processing product, Chemical Y, has recently been discovered, and can be used by Cot-Ten at a

minimal cost of switching. The CEO of Cot-Ten has declared that the company will increase profits by

switching to Chemical Y by the end of the month.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and

explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the statement, the CEO of Cot-Ten declared that the company will increase its profits by switching to Chemical Y from Chemical X by the end of the month. Here, the question arises on what basis the CEO declares that profit will be increased as no such clear information has been provided. Additionally, in the statement there is no mention that Chemical Y is not having any environmental regulations on it. So, directly reaching to the conclusion of switching to Chemical Y to increase profits of the company being with lack of information is hard to consider.

Secondly, another question to the statement is whether the product made by using this new chemical Y had been reviewed or not and also the statement made by the CEO is on the basis of discovery or on the basis of product manufactured by new Chemical Y. Further, the question is whether the same product can be manufactured with the new Chemical Y as it was manufactured with Chemical X. And what is the probability that the product manufactured with new Chemical Y will not be costly and in that case it will be brought by only a number of customers. As a consequence, it seems that the profit of the company will not increase as early as stated by the CEO of the company.

In addition to it, again the query arises if the manufacturing unit of Cot-Ten is familiar with this new Chemical Y or they need to be trained that how to use the new chemical carefully increasing the time of manufacturing the product, as a result the increase in profits of the company cannot be seen as early as the CEO suggested.

Furthermore, the conclusion given in the argument that this switch of Chemical X to Chemical Y will increase the profit of the company but what if the switch to Chemical Y causes revenue to fall? The author also states that Chemical Y is the “similar processing product” but the cotton produced by it will be as better as earlier one. Will the customers accept this switch and will purchase the new product or what if the customers deny the product causing fall in the revenue of the company.

Besides, what will happen to the stock already been prepared and how it will be disposed off? If it cannot be disposed from now, than with this kind of huge loss how CEO can declare the increase in profit by the end of the month.

While, on the other hand if the statement proves to be true than it will certainly be beneficial for the company. Increasing the profit of the company as well as removing the bar of environmental regulation from it giving it the chance to thrive again. In that case CEO’s decision will be highly appreciated and company will regain its image in the market among the investors and the customers.

Finally in the conclusion, it can be said that switching of the new Chemical Y seems too early with this little information as provided by the author. And CEO and the company need to look towards broader and future aspects of this decision to actualize the decision in a more profitable way for the company.