Some people believe that competition drives young athletes to perform at their best, while others believe that competition discourages those who are not athletically talented from participating in organized sports.

I do agree with the both part of the statement as both are true and significant at their own places. Firstly, considering the first part, we know that the athletes work hard to perform at their best in the competitions. For example, the national or international championships drive athletes to perform at their best to win in the competition.

As we know, like without exams students don’t learn their chapters same as without competitions athletes don’t practice their games with zeal and become lethargic. Since, they have nothing to fight for. But if there are competitions they work hard and try to perform at their best to win medals. Similarly, children who play games on streets such as cricket, badminton and others don’t perform at their best at that time but if those children have competition in school for the same games they try to perform at their best to win over their competitors.

Competition also drives young athletes to perform at their best because if they win it they earn a handsome amount of money. And some of the athletes are really in need of it. As well as competition is not just a competition with others. It can also be the competition with oneself which drives athlete to perform at their best to break and outdo their own records.

While considering the other part of the statement that competition discourages those who are not athletically talented. It can also be true in some cases when a person is not confident of himself. As he finds that being a part of the competition and not able to win it will not be good for his image. It can bring such a person in a self-grudging mood. Where he feels that he has no talent and he is not good in anything like others who take part in the competitions and win over it. Competition also discourages people because if they are unable to win it they have to face their parents and peers who will question them and it can also be the cause of scolding to them.

However, it is a matter of psychological condition of one’s mind that what state he is in. if the person is confident and believes in hard work then for him competition is not a problem and he will have the urge to perform at their best to win it while a person in low life condition or in stress or in depression really got discouraged by the competition due to fear of losing it.

Besides, the competition is good for the people those who have a mind state which works well during the time of pressure and bad for those who can’t handle this pressure of public and competition. Moreover, the best part of the competition is that through it we discover what we are capable of and how much more we can actually do than we ever believed possible.

So, we can conclude with the lines given by Dr. T.P. Chia that “A competitive person is always a winner. And an noncompetitive person is always a loser.” Hence, competition is a part of life. And everybody has to face it to remain in this fast and challenging world. Otherwise, he will be lost in darkness of loneliness as his peers winning over the competitions of life leave him behind and he will be left alone as everywhere from school to job, from young age to old age we face many competitions in life. Hence, one who triumphs over these competitions is the winner of the life and the other one who left behind is the loser.