‘The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores. "Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits." Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.’

The recommendation to have predicted results seems to have some problems in its way. The recommendation states that, Movies Galore store at Downtown Marston closed at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m., to decrease its operating expenses. The question arises, if, the customers were more happy with store because of its longer opening hours than, whether this recommendation, will not have an opposite reaction to it. Besides, this implication, at downtown store was good for a month; whether it will remain the same after a while.

Another point of argument is that, applying same strategy to every store at different places can have different implications to them. Then, their other plan is to eliminate movies from the store, released more than five years ago. Again, the query is that, what if customers equally liked those records. Then, the customers can be forced to go to other shops, reducing more popularity of the store and in favor of its competitors.

Instead of this recommendation, the store can apply the policy of attracting attention by starting some scheme or sale in the store. It can attract more and new customers and will enhance the profit of the store. The Galore store also has an option, of collaboration with movie companies to get finance, at the same time, to get promotion of store from them. They can also go with the feedback method to know, the change in interest of the customers. Another way is that, to remove unnecessary staff from the store.

Similarly, the store can try to raise its prices slightly, can be lower than its competitors; will not affect the reputation of the store. As well as, the thought, that the store is famous due to cheap prices can be a wrong notion. It can also be famous because of location of store, lack of such other stores in that locality, friendly behavior of the staff of the store and the like. So, the increase in prices may not affect the image of the store in the market.

Hence, in the conclusion, I suggest that the Movies store should look into more options around it, to increase its profit. Rather, taking this situation as a problem, they can also discover the opportunity out of it.