If two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should go to the applicant with more experience.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the specific circumstances in which adopting the position would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In today’s world, we see that there are fewer jobs and more candidates those who are fighting for the same job even with more qualifications then required. In that case, it becomes really hard for the recruiters to choose one among them when most of the candidate’s statuses are at the same level. Again, there is the same problem to choose candidates having same qualifications but one among them with more experience. As the proverb suggests that “Experience is the teacher of all things.” Then how can recruiters ignore it. While at the same time as we know that for creativity we need newness in our staff or new employees in our company. Because in today’s world to remain in market one needs be creative then only his business can thrive. Once again, we reach to the same point from where we started that who to be chosen among the same qualified. Probably, the answer seems that both are perfect at their places and needed to be chosen according to the requirements of the position with looking towards the minute details of the candidates.

In the case of experienced candidate for the job, an experienced applicant can be good for the difficult technical jobs. Since, he will be having better knowledge of dealing with machines. For example, like an engineer for a ship, where experience of an engineer can save hundreds of lives in case of an accident as he will know how to repair the faults more easily and can take early wise decisions in comparison to a new engineer. Experienced applicant can also be good for the job in finances because he can help the company to spend money to buy the right stocks in the market, as he can easily understand the falling and rising trends of the stock because of his experience. While experienced teacher can also be better with students as he can easily become friend with them due to his good psychological knowledge of students because of his lifelong involvement with them. In addition to it, an experienced doctor has the probability of doing better operation then a new doctor. And likewise a driver with more experience have a good knowledge of city roads and can do scheduled delivery on time even when there is any kind of issue in the city as he can choose the roads with less traffic and can reach the delivery point on time. Hence, we see that experience helps in many ways.

In contrast to it, with a new applicant we can see more creativity in his work. Such an employee has a more zeal to take risk in comparison to old-experienced ones as experienced employees make themselves restricted among the boundaries of their experience. New employees can do more physical work than old-experienced ones. They can easily make bonds with their fellow members due to their age factor and newness in the company and can work together as a team for the betterment of the company which is not as possible with an old-experienced employee due to his ego of its seniority. New employees also work hard to prove themselves and to advance in their job and position.

However, at the same time the new applicants are more likely to leave jobs as they are attracted to other offers more quickly in contrast to experienced employees who remain in jobs for longer time. Further, a new applicant also needs to go under extensive training in comparison to the precise training of experienced one as a result more money need to be spent on new ones and also they need time before beginning their work for the development of the company. Besides, there is a chance that experienced applicant asks for more money as his salary than a new applicant.

Thus, the decision to choose among the two applicants needed to be taken very wisely considering all the aspects of the job and the candidates. The recruiters must have the proper idea of the requirements of the job leading to the ingress of the candidate in the company working for its betterment.