People should question the rule of authority as opposed to accepting them passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the reasons for which the statement may or may not be true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In every country around the globe we see different types of authority. Authority has been considered in sociological terms as indicating the legitimate or socially approved use of power. It is the legitimate power which one person or a group holds and exercises over another. Max Weber defined three basic types of legitimate authority which also correspond to three types of dominance or leadership- traditional authority, legal rational authority, and charismatic authority.

While now-a-days, we can see legal- rational and autocratic type of authorities mostly. However, the query arises that whatever type of authority is present, whether the people need to obey it without any question. Because accepting any kind of authority without question gives it the right to continue no matter how it is exercised such as in wrong or right way. As accepting the rules passively can make the government autocratic or lead it to monarchic set of affairs.

Moreover, the rulers being questioned time to time have the fear of people and they don’t try to go against whatever is the best for the people. Questions and criticism keep the government on foot and they try to play with safer cards and keep people satisfy and don’t want to be overthrown by the public before the tenure gets over and at the same time wanted to be re-elected in the next elections. The questions also keep the public money safe and government doesn’t spend them on wasteful projects. It also cause lack of corruption and people become more aware that what is good for them and the country.

On the other hand, in communist or Taliban- occupied countries questioning government can be dangerous for the citizens as these governments (authorities) don’t accept the opposition from people or anyone else. This type of autocratic governments can be seen in the countries like North Korea, China, Iran, Iraq, Afghanistan and the like and some of the tyrannical examples of these governments are China’s Tiananmen Square Massacre and Afghanistan’s Kabul or Kandahar massacre by Taliban’s government showing the suppression of opposition by the people.

In addition to it, questioning each and every action of the authorities causes delay and make the government less interested and less self- responsible. Since, they start believing that their every action will be questioned hence making them lethargic and they feel dependent upon people to review every decision taken by them before its implementation. For example, when an employee is questioned again and again by authorities about his actions than he losses interest in his job and become lethargic towards its work and see towards the bosses for the approval on every decision which is taken by him.

Hence, the conclusion arises that both accepting the rules of authority passively and opposing them can be a problem for the people but accepting rules passively always leads to corruption in the countries and in long run eats up the foundation of country causing the loss of independence .In contrast, questioning the authority sometimes brought the much needed revolution in countries, for example, in India which revolted against the oppression of British Empire bringing back the life of Indian public. So, the questioning of authority can also be the key for the political, social and economic change for the betterment of the country.