Collectors prize the ancient life-size clay statues of human figures made on Kali Island but have long wondered how Kalinese artists were able to depict bodies with such realistic precision. Since archaeologists have recently discovered molds of human heads and hands on Kali, we can now conclude that the ancient Kalinese artists used molds of actual bodies, not sculpting tools and techniques, to create these statues. This discovery explains why Kalinese miniature statues were abstract and entirely different in style: molds could be used only for life-size sculptures. It also explains why few ancient Kalinese sculpting tools have been found. In light of this discovery, collectors predict that the life-size sculptures will decrease in value while the miniatures increase in value.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The prediction that the value of life-size sculptures will decrease while the value of miniatures will increase is not entirely logically cogent, because it is based on dubious inferences which requires more information and weighting. Some questions are required to be answered that can contribute to evaluate the argument.

Firstly, the discovery of head’s and hand’s molds can effectively endorse the conclusion that the ancient Kalinese artists used molds of actual bodies to create life-size sculptures? This conclusion was not efficiently made because it was not found any entire body’s mold or molds of other important parts of human body that can assure this conclusion.

Secondly, it is compelling to state that the ancient Kalinese artists did not use sculpting tools and techniques just based on the fact that just a few tools were found? This argument is not plausible, perhaps there are a lot of sculping tools hidden that the archaeologists still have not found or the tools may be made of some material that deteriorates so much along the centuries that they just can not be found.

Finally, the author does not even address other factors to explain why miniature sculptures are so different in style and abstract. It may be like this because life-size sculptures were used to scare enemies and evil spirits for example. This way they were able to protect their community. Or even they may be some kind of gift to their gods. On the other hand, the miniature sculptures may be used as toys by children, decoration tool or even symbols of people dead from the family. Furthermore, the sculptures may be distinct just because they were made by different artists, eras or materials.

Although the assumption that the life-sized sculptures were made using molds were reasonable or warrant this does not support the argument that the value of it will decrease. What aspect determines the value of an ancient sculpture? They will surely decrease just because were made using molds? A lot of knowledge was required by ancient artists to develop a technique to obtain and use molds to do sculptures. Regardless of the technique applied, ancient art always have great value to collectors.

To conclude, the author’s argument that the value of life-size sculptures will decrease while the value of miniatures will increase is not completely sound since the supporting sentences and the given assumptions are not strong and well related enough.