Collectors prize the ancient life-size clay statues of human figures made on Kali Island but have long wondered how Kalinese artists were able to depict bodies with such realistic precision. Since archaeologists have recently discovered molds of human heads and hands on Kali, we can now conclude that the ancient Kalinese artists used molds of actual bodies, not sculpting tools and techniques, to create these statues. This discovery explains why Kalinese miniature statues were abstract and entirely different in style: molds could be used only for life-size sculptures. It also explains why few ancient Kalinese sculpting tools have been found. In light of this discovery, collectors predict that the life-size sculptures will decrease in value while the miniatures increase in value.

While the author of the passage does make certain valid arguments regarding Kalinese statues, the evidence the author puts forward lacks a lot of necessary information, causing the author to overextrapolate information, while other arguments made by the author is rift with assumptions and is not backed up with any sort of evidence.

The author mentions that archaeologists have recently discovered molds of human heads of hands on Kali. However, in order to produce a life-size clay statue, the sculptor would have needed more molds that just molds for the head and the hands. The sculptor would have need molds for the feet, torso, chest etcetra as well. The author is implying that having molds for certain body parts is what has helped the Kalises to produce such life-like depicts, however, having molds for just the head and the hands could result in a disproportionate clay statue if there were no other molds involved and the author cannot assume there were as none have been found.

The author says that the discovery of molds explains by the Kalises minatures are abtract figures. However, this extrapolation is not supported by any of the evidence. The author could strengthen his or her argument by dating the miniatures, the mold and the life-size clay figures. It could be possible that the Kalinese first started off producing small miniature models and then as time progressed, started to produce larger, life-size clay figures. The evidence here is insufficient to make reasonable conclusions about this. In addition to this, perhaps the art form was such that the miniature statues were meant to be abstract and had nothing to do with the existence of having molds.

In addition to this, having found few sculpting tool does not necessarily mean that the Kalinese used fewer tools. It could be that archaeologists just have not found any tools or that the tools were made of a sort of material that caused them to degrade and so they have not been found.

The statement of relating the discovery of the molds to the value of the figures is not supported by any of the evidence presented here. There seems to be not logical connection between value and the use of molds to create statues. Perhaps collectors value the statues for their alikeness and aesthetic value rather than how the Kalinese managed to create such a statue. Perhaps the collectors collect them for their historical value. We cannot make conclusions based on the evidence presented here. Furthermore, there is nothing to suggest that the value of the miniatures would increase if the value of life-sized statues fall. It is not necessarily true that collectors would swap from life-sized statues to miniatures, they might as well switch to collecting from another island or era all together.

All in all, the evidence presented by the author here is not convincing enough to draw the sorts of conclusions made by the author. The passage can be strengthen by including stronger, more detailed evidence.