"To combat the recently reported dramatic rise in cheating among college and university students, these institutions should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced an old-fashioned system in which students were closely monitored by teachers and an average of thirty cases of cheating per year were reported. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey conducted by the Groveton honor council, a majority of students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without."

The argument highlights about a report on the rising menace of cheating by the students in the college and university exams. To mitigate or abate this habit of cheating, the author emphasizes to adopt a code called " Honor Code " which has been implemented by the Groveton Universoty. The sweeping conclusion of the author based on unsubstantiated assumptions seems to suffer from severe flaws.

The first and foremost flaw is the very integrity of the code named " Honor Code" which relies on the the response of the students. It has also replaced the rigorous monitoring by the teachers which used to report at least 30 cases of cheating every year. The statement itself undermines the integrity of the honor code. The code relies on the students who may be very prone to fallibility because cheating is beneficial to them in scoring of marks and hence they can always manipulate the truth in their favour. On the other hand the old system of teachers' monitoring seems to be impartial and effective as they are not prone to untruthfulness as there is no motive of self gain. Hence it clearly refutes the flimsy conclusion of the author.

The second flaw which needs attention is the author's reasoning about the honor code of the Groveton University to be very effective based on a survey which says that after adoption of the code, the cases of teaching has reduced to 21 in the first year and after a span of 5 years to only 14.

The author nowhere mentions any detail about the authenticity of the survey. Further the data also seems to be dubious as the decreasing number of the reported cases of cheating cannot reliably establish that there has been actual decrease in the number of cheating cases.

The third flaw in the argument is that author reasons for the adoption of the honor code based on the agreement of the students that they shall not resort to the unfair means in their academic endeavors. This is clearly an unreasonable approach as the students are prone to speaking lies. Hence their agreement that they shall not resort to cheating is flawed. There must be an impartial monitoring by the teachers or the administrative department so that this menace of cheating can be discouraged among the students.

Hence it can be reasonably stated that the argument being established by the author to adopt the Honor code for all the colleges and universities is flawed and are hence indefensible. The author must establish an impartial monitoring by the independent parties to curb the menace of cheating. Infact at a point of time it can be said that the " Honor Code" if adopted in all the college and universities can severely dent the quality of the products from the institutions as it shall foster greater inclination to unfair means in the exams.