A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

The issue highlights a very important question before any government of a particular nation that there should be a single curriculum in all the schools before the students enter into the college. The issue at hand is very critical and I am in complete agreement for the stated issue.

A single curriculum in all the schools of the country is very essential to integrate the entire nation. This will result in uniformity of the subjects being taught. Dissemination of knowledge will bring equality in the learning process of the entire nation. It is particular important for a country like India that a uniform curriculum should be there in all the schools. India is subdivided into 28 states and 9 Union Territories having diverse curriculum in all the states. Even the medium of conversation is quite different. While some may argue that this helps in maintaining diversity of the nation but lest we forget that all the students irrespective of the states face a single competition for entering the colleges or beginning a career in any discipline.

The competitive exams have a uniform syllabus for all the students. This causes a very cumbersome process for the students of various states who are not conversant in the the curriculum which the competitive requires. This infact creates disparity and is even disadvantageous for the students of the backward states or the states where the medium of teaching is different from the medium required in the competitive exams.

Further , it can be reasonably asserted that the single curriculum helps in better judgement of the students through a single exam. It will also help the central committee involved in the preparation of the curriculum or the exam process to prepare a single uniform course for all. The coordination and execution of the exams, the schedule of the school , the schedule of the exams shall become transparent and less cumbersome.

However, many educationists may argue that the singe curriculum can lead to the erosion of the local culture, traditions , literature, various languages in the long run.

At the end, it can be reasonable asserted that a single curriculum for the entire nation shall be greatly beneficial to all the students - be it the process of learning, facing competitive exams and chossing the career in life. It . It shall also provide a help to the administrators and educationists to formulate a single education policy to bring uniformity and homogenity of the process of learning. It may encounter certain problems of the state, however, all their grievances can be settled with due delibration