The commercial airline industry in the country of Freedonia has experienced impressive growth in the past three years. This trend will surely continue in the years to come, since the airline industry will benefit from recent changes in the Freedonian society: incomes are rising, most employees now receive vacation time, and interest in travel is rising, as shown by an increase in media attention devoted to foreign cultures and tourist attractions.

Write a response in which you will discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The writer concludes that Freedonian airline will continue to experience growth as a result of the major positive trends in the economy. He backed up his statement by going further to mention evidences to support his conclusion like: rising wages, employees having more vacation time and increased interest rate in travel indicated by media coverage of foreign lands and tourism. At a first glance, these evidences may seem likely to cause or influence the growth of the Freedonian airline industry. However, the author relies on unsupported assumptions about the stability of the economic trends. Therefore, his argument is flawed and unconvincing.

First, the writer assumes the positive economic trends will continue, he also assumes that the increased income rates will directly translate to people using their discretionary income to travel and not on other things like food, shopping, investments, benevolence etc. Furthermore, the writer also assumes that those that like to travel will want to travel by air, he completely ignores the fact that, there are other means of transportation that people enjoy as well. For example, I know for a fact that some people prefer to travel by road, because they just want to enjoy the breeze and appreciate scenic views of nature. Moreover, it is relatively cheaper than air. On the other hand, some people prefer travelling by water, they find it exciting to travel by water and the love the serene and peaceful connection with water bodies.

Additionally, the writer provides no evidence suggesting that the increased media coverage of foreign cultures and tourist attraction is due to an increased interest level in traveling by air. The author fails to understand that there might not be any link between the increase in media attention assigned to promoting foreign cultures and tourism and peoples' interest in traveling by air; their attention to these issues may have been based on assumptions that people are now more interested in travel-related content. Unless there are stronger evidences that the increase in media attention to tourism and the likes are linked to the peoples' increased interests in traveling, then writer's assumptions are invalid.

In conclusion, the writer is not necessarily mistaken in stating that the positive economic trends will influence the growth of Freedonian airline. After all, those are factors that directly or indirectly affect the prospering of a commercial airline industry. However, to support the assertion that these trends will be stable enough to lead to the growth of the airline, the writer must provide more conclusive evidences to show that these positive economic trends will continue to influence people to travel, and not just by any means but by air. Without such evidence, there is no proof that Freedonian airline will continue to experience impressive growth in future.