Progress should be the aim of any great society. People too often cling unnecessarily to obsolete ways of thinking and acting because they enjoy feeling comfortable and fear the unknown.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you either agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways to which the statement might or might not be true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Nelson Mandela once said and I quote, ‘Courage is not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is not the one who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers fear’. Fear is a state of mind that is not uncommon to everyone, it impedes success and kills dreams, even before attempting a trial. The prompt recommends that for progress in any society to take place, people should learn to challenge themselves and stop sticking to the conventional ways of doing things. In my opinion, I couldn’t agree more with this suggestion and argue that we need to be dauntless and seek new and better ways of doing things in order to make progress as a society for two reasons in which I will explore in this essay.

To begin, nothing great ever comes out of the comfort zone, sticking to methods of doing things that we are more than comfortable with, doesn’t give room for progress. Take for instance, Abraham Graham Bell who invented the telephone in the 1870s, his invention served as a faster and a more convenient means of disseminating information as opposed to posting handwritten letters. In 1973, Martin Cooper, a Motorola researcher and executive produced the first mobile phone, which was a tremendous improvement on telephones, as people could now move about and still be able to communicate. Innovations on communication devices have rapidly and continually improved over the years because these men have challenged traditional means of communication, they believed there had to be an alternative and refused to get comfortable with writing letters then waiting for months for it to be delivered, hoping the letters do not get lost in transit. Similarly, if all the inventors were too comfortable and let their fear of failure hold them back from realizing their dreams, we would probably be writing letters till date. Imagine a world without these technological advancements? Imagine if they weren’t courageous enough to make a difference and improve on our world? Finally, imagine how totally different our lives would be from what it is now?

Furthermore, fear of the unknown does to humans makes us doubt our potentials and dreams, it fills our minds with uncertainty. It prevents us from realizing possible positive outcomes and from understanding that we are only failures when we don’t try and not when we fail. A reporter once asked Thomas Edison, “how did it feel to fail 1000 times?” Edison replied, I didn’t fail 1000 times. The lightbulb was an invention with 1000 steps. Great success is built on failure, frustration, even catastrophe.” This quote is from a great man who invented the incandescent light bulb in 1800s. Undoubtedly, it must have taken this man a truck full of courage to have failed this many times and still be tenacious. He built on the works of his rivals, Henry Woodward and Matthew Evans, who sold their patent to him because their efforts towards commercializing their lamps were futile. Additionally, failing is an inevitable event on the journey to success, but if we don’t overcome it, how can we make progress as a society? What would you attempt to do if you knew you would not fail? When we start to see things differently and take our failures as opportunities for learning in disguise, then we can make progress.

Ultimately, it can be observed that great men and women that brought by change and development in the society have done that by facing the fear of the unknown and refusing to stick to the obsolete ways of doing things. They refused to get comfortable and accept that things cannot be improved upon. As individuals in the society, we should understand that these people were constantly faced with fear just like we are on a daily basis, they were also presented with the same choice to sit back at home and not try to make a difference, despite all these, they didn’t stop trying. With all these being said, I couldn’t agree more that progress should be the objective of any society and it can be achieved when individuals challenge themselves to do phenomenal things by getting out of their comfort zones.