Do you support or oppose the following plan?

The government plans to limit class sizes to a maximum of 15 students.

It can be very overwhelming to teach a large class of over 30 students, especially because as a teacher, it's very important you know each student not just by their names but also by their strengths. Moreover, having over 30 students in the classroom already screams distraction. Personally, I support the government's decision to make classrooms smaller. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the essay.

First, having a classroom with a maximum of 15 students means the teacher is able to focus more on each student, he is able to identify their strengths and can teach at a pace favorable for all his students to learn. With lesser number of students, it significantly becomes easier to identify the challenges students have in understanding a particular topic and can guide the teacher on how to explain better. Two years ago, I attended a seminar on "Improving the design of buildings in Lagos". During the seminar, we had general lectures and then lectures in groups of 5. I learnt most of the practicable design solutions I used in university for my final year project, from the small group because the speaker made sure he answered all our questions and left no stone unturned while discussing all possible solutions.

Another advantage of a smaller classroom is that the teacher knows each student personally and can build a connection with them. Because of his bond and connection with his students, he can decipher when something isn't right with a student and can work towards creating a better and more conducive environment for the child to learn. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was 6, I lost my dog, Anabel. I cried a lot because Anabel and I were so close. My class teacher noticed I was sad most of the time and that my scores in class activities had dropped, so he decided to speak to me about it, then I told him about Anabel. The next day, he got me a teddy bear in my favorite color and a fortune jar. Of course, this didn't completely make me forget about my dog, but playing with my new teddy and looking forward to a new fortune everyday made me feel better and in no time, my grades picked up.

I think the plan of government to reduce the number of students in classrooms is a great idea. This is because there would be less distractions for students while learning and because it would be easy for teachers to improve the quality of the learning environment for every student.