"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on blue highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time.The favored proposal of the motorists lobby is to widen the highway,adding an additional lane of traffic.But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it.A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to blue highway.Many area residents are keen bicyclists.A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute,and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase".

There are many problems which arise from increase in traffic .There is problem related to commuting time of commuters as the traffic is increased during peak hours,it becomes difficult for commuters to reach their office on time and vice versa.The increase in traffic can also lead to various other problems.The proposal is to widen a highway but in order to sound convincing and inorder to be persuasive the author needs to subsume a lot more relevant information on how to reduce traffic during peak hours.The information described here is not as convincing as it needs to be in order to influence oneself to believe that widening a highway can reduce the traffic during peak hours and thus widening a highway would be the solution in reducing the traffic problem during peak hours.

The author says that the increase in traffic can be lessen by including an additional lane by widening the blue highway according to one favored proposal.But then the author says that widening a lane lead to increased traffic in green highway.The result of widening a highway in nearby area cannot have influence on the highway which is to be widened.One cannot rely on the information related to widening the highway in the nearby area.

There is also a mention about the better alternative which states that the bicycle lane should be added to a blue highway.There is no further cogent information to buttress this information as it is stated that this is the better alternative but there is no relevant information related to whether this the better alternative or not.

Further it is given that the residents of many areas are keen bicyclists but the information to support this statement is not specified.Even if the residents are keen bicyclists there may be possibility that they may not use their bicycles to commute between the places and that the bicycle lane may not be properly utilized.Therefore,the traffic during rush hours may not be significantly reduced.It is stated that many area residents are keen bicyclists but in those many areas whether this area will be included or not cannot be concluded from the information given and therefore whether these areas with keen bicyclists have contributed to the reduction in traffic is also not specified clearly.

Thus, the author in order to sound more persuasive should include more information to buttress this argument and also provide relevant information related to the interests of the common people.Thus,the author should provide sufficient information in order to support this information.