The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The council of Maple County prognosticated that the propositions on curtailing the overdevelopment of the county -through the prevention of the development of available farmland- would lead to a considerable increase in housing prices. The council made this prediction based on the geometrical rise that occurred in Pine County fifteen years ago. However, the prediction of the council is contingent upon three questions that must be answered to properly evaluate the validity of the argument.

First, are the current available houses insufficient for the rate of population increase in the county? The council assumed that the current available houses are not sufficient to serve the population of the county in the next couple of years. It is possible that the overdevelopment of the county implies the enormous presence of houses that are yet to be occupied. Perhaps, there are lots of vacant houses that still await citizens to make offer on. Perhaps, residents of the county are parsimonious and prefer spending little on houses which might even force agents to reduce their prices in order to accommodate county residents in the houses to avoid damages from molds, insects due to the overdue abandoned nature of the houses. If either of the scenarios above has merit, then the prediction of the council on the increase in house prizes due to competition for houses or insufficiency is flawed.

In furtherance, is there a roughly comparable pattern between Maple County and Pine County? The council assumed that the increased prices that occurred at Pine County will also happen in Maple County. The council fails to state why Pine County is a better prediction template than Chestnut County -which experienced reduction in housing prices as a result of the same restrictions. What if the population of residents in Pine County overly exceeds the available houses in the county? It is possible that there is a large disparity in the population density of Pine County and Maple County. It is also likely that the residents of Pine County have a higher standard of living and thus spend more that the frugal nature of Maple County residents. We do not just know! For the council prediction to be a plausible one, there is a need to evaluate the similarities between Pine County and Maple County in terms of housing demands and spending nature of the residents.

Finally, will the economy climate remain the same? The council assumed that the future economy will not be favorable to the residents to purchase houses. Despite the plebian belief that houses do not depreciate, there is a possibility that the currencies of the country -which the county is located- might bolster against international standards and made virtually purchase of all things cheaper than previous years. If this scenario is true, the prediction of the council without a proper consideration of the economy climate is unwarranted.

In conclusion, despite the possibility in the rise of housing costs due to the proposed policies in averting overdevelopment of the county, the council prediction based on the assumptions given is rife with unwarranted assumptions and open to three questions (as stated above) that must be answered systematically to prove the plausibility of such presentiments.