The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

The council of maple county is debating to pass proposed measures to prevent the overdevelopment of the county, with the concerns that passing this measure may result in escalation of prices of the houses in the county. The council has come to this conclusion based on the observation noted on Chestnut County and Pine County, of which the housing prices have increased after establishing the similar measure. However, before this conclusion can be accepted the following reasoning should be taken into account.

According to the council the prices have increased in both the other conties approximately 10- 15 years ago. It is pointless to assume that after a decade the pricing of any area would not increase and the reason for the escalation of the pricing can be establishing the law of restriction to make more houses. It is highly probable that economical changes that happened during the last fifteen years are different then the current scenarios.

The council have apparently compared the two conty but has failed to mention that are these three different areas comparable or not? It is possible that the Chestnut and Pine county are situated in the urban areas or the infrastructure and environment to live in has become likable for the residents, resulting in demands to live in that area and increasing the prices of the houses.

Furthermore, the council has clearly failed to explain the link between overdevelopment and restricting the development of farmlands. Yes, increasing in the number of houses clearly means that more people will come to live in that area but overdevelopment of population or the industrial area is not clearly not mentioned in the claim.

In conclusion, the stated argument is flawed and based on the unwarranted assumptions. If the council takes into account the above reasoning and presents a more reliable claim perhaps with the help of systematic research study.