Downtown Zurzi is becoming increasingly congested with traffic, increasing commuting time for those who work downtown or near downtown. The nearby city of Loft was faced with the same problem several years ago and implemented a small weekly tax for driving one’s car downtown. Downtown traffic almost immediately subsided in Loft and the local government also raised much needed money for fixing roads elsewhere. Obviously, this plan should be implemented in Zurzi in order to solve the brewing traffic congestion problem.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The passage talks about introducing a plan to solve the congestion crisis in Zurzi which is similar to the nearby city Loft. The author of the argument cites that Loft faced the same problem several years ago and it was solved with the introduction of a weekly tax for driving downtown. He further supports his claim by telling that the downtown traffic immediately decreased and even the government was able to get much necessary funds for other roads. But, the argument is still in much need of more evidence in order to become cogent and well-placed so that it can be presented to the relevant authorities.

First of all, most of the cities have different road maps and architectures and a scheme does not guarantee success if replicated from one city to another. Given the case of city of Loft, which benefitted from introducing the tax, we might not be sure whether the city of Zurzi has same kind of city structure and introducing this scheme won't cause traffic congestion elsewhere or not. It might be possible that the people start parking around downtown where taxes are not there and cause even more congestion at those places. Therefore, we might need to get the evidence about the traffic situation around the downtown in Loft after the scheme was introduced there and have a logical comparison between the road structure around downtown for both the cities before moving forward.

There is a huge question mark on the extent of the congestion that is observed in the city currently. Even though it is assumed that the implementation of the schemes will make people to choose the downtown area for driving less likely, it is not completely known whether that would be enough and commute time will reduce? Also, in that case, the people might become low-spirited with seeing both the tax as well as the congestion at the same time. Hence, there is a great need to know the number of vehicles that pass through downtown regularly and take a wise decision accordingly. The same observation is necessary in Loft since, the scheme might not be working well now because of the population and increase in vehicles.

In conclusion, the argument presented here needs a lot of improvement and variety of more specifics related to city structure of Zurzi and vehicle numbers is needed. Without these evidences, the argument is incomplete and a thorough study is required for major plan like this.