If rituals did not exist we have to invent them. We need ceremonies and rituals to help us define ourselves social and culturally.

Over the centuries, the world has seen many revolutions and tribulations with the introduction and mixing of people of different ethnicities. Some might say that in order to give themselves a new identity, socially and culturally, people might have invented ceremonies and rituals. To extend it further, if such formations are required in future, then people might need to invent more of them. However, I fundamentally do not agree with the idea of rituals being the base for identifying ourselves socially and culturally, but a minimal amount of ceremonies and rituals always help. It involves various factors which need to be explored and thought upon.

The formation of United States of America is a big challenge to the above claim by the author. The people of different ethnicities and cultures came together and declared themselves free and democratic politically. This society was formed giving the primacy to cooperation and survival. A cosmopolitan society which depends not upon some rituals or ceremonies can also live a wonderful life without any fear of extinction if there are enough resources and an inner desire to develop new things. That is why, US progressed in terms of technology without putting much focus on rituals and became a world power. The people even started defining themselves in these terms as the time passed and not many rituals were involved.

If we think about rituals in detail, some societies have rituals which are difficult to pass from generation to generation because of their byzantine nature. These involve multiple steps and worship of different deities at different times. It becomes so challenging for an individual who basically cannot find time to perform them everyday because of work, married life and kids. Moreover, this can lead to loss of identity if that society is highly dependent on rituals. Figuratively, such societies can no longer identify themselves socially and culturally.

Some might argue that the rituals get passed upon and remembered again and again through ceremonies but too much of them can make people lose interest in them with time. It is good to have some minimal amount of the rituals which can be passed upon in the developing world. As people's lives have become more busier with time, smaller ceremonies with bigger messages can still hold people give the rituals some significance and a role in daily lives.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that a minimal amount of ceremonies and rituals help us make social and cultural connections with our past, but they should be minimal. As the societies believe more in surviving through cooperation, and with the advent of increasing technology, people might not get time to perform the rituals, it is best to keep the important rituals in practice. Hence, we are not entirely dependent on them for defining ourselves.