Color photography has eliminated the need for realism in artistic painting, in the opinion of a number of art scholars and artists. At the same time, many members of the art community still feel that realistic artwork is still valuable and worthwhile.

The unique talent of artist has been drawn through ages, in pre-historic days artisans have had the greatest social reputation in the society. They certainly possessed a blessing and received plaudits from ministers and kingdom. The painting not only depicted an image rather its state when it was done, even a lay man on viewing it could easily figure out whether it was an era of war, peace, celebrations, reconciliation etc. In fact an expert could discern a story that the painting would depict through the contrast of colours, line of forms, cursory of elements in it and so on.

Through the evolution of technology, colour photographs have burgeoned. Colour photographs rightly capture an image as it is within no time. Yes, this does make them realistic. People are now able to show colleagues and publicize by sharing their jaunts pictures, keeping status and much more. Thus, it is very evident that colour photographs are being preferred over paintings.

On contrary, one would ponder over questions like- do the colour pictures depict any history?

There are many filters that the camera lens incorporate, so can we still call the photograph a realistic? People edit their images and convert them to painting styles, moreover many social media have induced these effects in their options. Contemporarily, there are many apps designed on this. It’s tacit that the paintings create have a powerful influence on our minds. Unlike photographs, painting can even figure out the ostensible faces.

In markets too, old paintings are kept for auctions. Even a simple painting depicts a lot many themes. It involves a combine work of artist’s brain, hand effort and ambience- a realistic! while a photograph is simple based on natural beauty and filters. As the idiom says- “Old is Gold”. Nothing can supplant the traditional methods.

On whole, It can be concluded that Color photography has not entirely eliminated the need for realism in artistic painting and that realistic artwork is still valuable and worthwhile.