Dr Karp mentions that the Child rearing in Tertian is done by the entire village

In the article, Dr. Karp suggest that the interview centered approach will be more accurate for understanding child rearing traditions in islands. The author has come to this conclusion based on the results of the interview conducted on the island of Tertia as well as the contrasting results with Dr. Field observation centered approach. While the conclusion drawn by the author might utimately prove valid, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus the author needs to provide three crucial pieces of evidence to bolster the validity of the argument.

First of all, the author is comparing the study done twenty years ago with his current study. The author needs to provide evidence that in the twenty years nothing has changed regarding the way a child is reared in the island of Tertia. Perhaps, the children were reared by the entire village in the past and in the coming years they have discontinued this tradition and hence the children are spending much more time talking about their parents because in reality they are actually reared by their parents. If the above scenario holds merit than the authors claim that Dr. Field approach was not accurate and his approach will be more helpful does not hold water and hence the evidence regarding the changes in the rearing culture should be presented to make the argument more logical.

Second of all, the author presumes that because the children are talking more about their parents, hence their are reared by them. It is possible that the questions asked in the interview were related to their parents due to which they were more inclined in talking about them, even though they are reared by the entire village and there is no change in the way children were reared in the past and how they are reared in the present. If the above case is true then the author's argument that the interview based approach is more accurate and the observation based method does not hold merit is flawed. Hence the author needs to check about the reason children are more tend to talk about their parent and then the argument can be further evaluated to prove its validity.

Lastly, the author assumes that the method adopted in Tertia will be applicable to other islands as well. Perhaps their might be islands where they have never interacted with people outside their islands and there is possibility that they may show hostility to the team collecting data for understanding the rearing traditions on the island. If such is the case then Dr. Field method of observation will be fruitful as we can estimate the rearing traditions by observing them for a long distance and there will be no need to interact with them. If the above situation is true then the author's argument is significanlty weakened and the author needs to provide more evidence reagarding other islands people to bolster his conclusion.

Although the author may not be evaluating the given situation regarding the approaches by Dr. Karp in Tertia in its entirety, the information and conclusion associated with it cannot be writtten off either. There is no smoke without fire and the author must have had compelling reasons to make such a strong conclusion, however, since the reasons are not mentioned here, the argument as it stands cannot be said holistically. More evidence is needed to make the given argument stronger.