During the past year, the channel company has devoted the late night show to national affairs and consequently Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaintsrecieved from viewers were concerned with out station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

During the past year, the channel company has devoted the late night show to national affairs and consequently less time for weather and local news. In addition to that most of the complaints were regarding the local news coverage and weather. And, many local companies have canceled their late night advertising contract with the channel. Therefore, according to author to restore the previous status of channel, they should give weather and local news more time in late-night show. This might just work but there are many underlying assumptions in the argument, if not resolved then revnues might not boost again.

First assumtion is that channel do have sufficient coverage for weather and local news from which they can provide more content for local and weather news. In addition to that, There is no mention of specific demands from complains, were they quality centric or quantity centric is important to know. If the complains were regarding content of the news then providing more time to weather and local news might just not work. One way to know this is to analyze complains from day time, if they have similar distibution and same complains are coming for weather and local news coverage then there is problem with the quality of news.

Other assumtion author made is regarding advertising contracts. Before coming to conclusion that the reson for canceling the advertising contract is the news, one has to be make sure of it. There might be possibility of other competitors providing same advertisnment at cheaper rate, the changing trends towards internet and digitalization might be affecting the advertising revenue. There might be economical downfall which is preventing local businesses to spend more on publicity.

Furthermore, even if we assume that the less time given for local news and weather is major issue behind this, restoring the time for the local news as of before might not work, as they have alreeady lost their faith. Local businesses might be choosing other channel to advertise their content. So, what is that other competitor offering apart from the services this channel providing, this information is essestial to generate revenue boost.

Suppose, everything is as expected by the author, the decline in revenue from advertising is becasue of less time provision for local news and weather, as well as the majority of the complaints are about the quantity of the local and weather news. Then also we have to analyze our capacity of providing local news content. Apart from that, restoring the news timings is possible but attain the same revenue as of before might not be possible just by increasing timings for endemic news. Restoring credibility takes time, far more then the time it took to loosing it. Thus, there are many assumptions underlying the argument stated, without getting the justification for all, one can not be sure about the consequences or move described.