"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

This argument asserts that the company has to reduce the work hour of all three work shifts by one hour to secure enough time for employees to sleep sufficiently because tired workers are likely to cause on-site accidents, which reduce the productivity. It seems reasonable at first glance; however, the argument depends on several unsubstantiated assumptions and is, therefore, unpersuasive as it stands.

The memo claims that Quiot Manufacturing has 30% more on-site accidents than Panoply industries plant because of the longer work hours per shift based on the research conducted in last year. There are two flawed assumptions in this claim: First, the one-year study may not provide enough evidence to draw the conclusion that which factory has fewer accidents during the particular year. Second, comparing the length of work shifts and the absolute number of the accidents occurred at both factories in the last year is irrelevant unless thorough investigation was performed to analyze the overall work environment such as the machine maintenance status.

Furthermore, the claim cited the expert said that workers with fatigue and insufficient sleep are more likely to cause industrial accidents. The problem in this assumption is that the author took only the conclusion from the expert’s study and ignored other factors that the experts may have controlled during the research. In the memo, the vice president blames the worker’s fatigue degree as the main factor of on-site accidents in the factory; however, it is also possible there are other reasons contributed to accidents such as lack of proper training for workers.

Moreover, the claim asserts that employees will get more sleep if the company abridge the length of each shift. However, no one knows whether the workers actually sleep more with an additional hour. It is possible that the employees spend an extra hour on doing their own hobbies. The company is able to change the length of work time, but it does have no control over what its employees do during their spare time.

Lastly, reducing the number of on-site accidents doesn’t necessarily increase the effectiveness. In fact, accidents in the factory may not be the only reason for sluggish productivity. Many on-the-job accidents do slow down the flow of the factory; however, by eliminating the factor of accident, the company may not get the productivity increase as it expected. There are many factors besides the accident rate in order for the company to improve factory effectiveness, such as the machine condition in the manufacturing lines.

In conclusion, based on the unwarranted assumptions mentioned above, the argument fails to provide enough evidence that the reducing number of accidents will increase productivity. Unless the argument presents more specific data on the factors differentiate two factories, how the cited experts performed their research, or the employee surveys about the reducing work time, it lacks logical reasoning and evidence.