During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep.

The Following piece of information taken from the vice president of Quito Manufacturing blames high working hours, fatigue and sleep deprivation for more on-the-job accidents in Quito manufacturing then in the nearby Panoply industrial plant. He further adds on to say that Quiot manufacturing should reduce their employees working hours to ultimately reduce the number of on-job-accidents and increase productivity. However his line of reasoning is fraught with erroneous logic and conclusions.

Firstly, the vice president starts by saying that Panoply Industries has less on-job-accidents than Quiot Manufacturing due shorter work hour shifts. Whereas there could be ample of reasons other than shorter working hours which could have led to less number of on-job-accidents, such as better management, proper safety measures etc. The vice president also states figures of comparison like 30% more job accidents in Quito plant then in Panoply industry without sharing the absolute value of the percentage, that is there could be a possibility that Panoply Industries have lesser number of workforce than Quiot Manufacturers.

Moving on, the vice president also says that the experts claim that fatigue and sleep deprivation are among the major and significant factors contributing to on-the-job accidents at the Quito Manufacturing plant. Jumping on to this conclusion is based on faulty claims and irrelevant logic. There is no data specified to jump onto this conclusion. There is a high possibility that workers who encountered the recent accidents were the ones who were sleep deprived that to not due to longer hours of work but some other reasons.

Last but not the least, the vice president is quite sure that by shortening each of their three work shifts by one hour would ultimately result in lesser number of on-the-job accidents and would increase the productivity of the workers. Rather this could make the workers lazy and decrease the productivity. Even he fails at providing the evidence to the facts stated. The vice president undermines the potential of other factors that could led to on job accidents like proper safety measures and proper training to the workers.

The vice presidents arguments could have been convincing had he provided more concrete facts and data to support his augments. Throughout his arguments he was seemingly jumping from one point to another and disregarding the bleak lines of differences. In the light of the discrepancies discussed above, it can be concluded that the vice presidents argument lacks perspective and is unconvincing.