The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island plans to limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season. Last year, the neighboring island of Torseau enforced similar limits on moped rentals and saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. We predict that putting these limits into effect on Balmer Island will result in the same reduction in moped accidents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the given peice of information the editor says that the population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during summer season, so to reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island plans to limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season. The editor goes on saying that, last year even the neighboring island of Torseau enforced similar limits on moped rentals and saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. Ahead of this the editor suggests that inculcating simillar measures would also decrease the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians in balmer. But his analysis seems to be unconvincing based on erroneous data and fraught facts.

Firstly the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette says that by reducing the number of moped rentals from 50 to 30 per day will result in reduced number of accidents. But this facts is rather unconvincing because the editor does not provide any further information of how this change could effect the number of accidents. Instead reducing the number of mopeds could cause unconvinience and also cause a rush for the tourists and the natives which could ultimately lead to rash driving and thus increase the number of accidents.

Further on the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette goes on saying that the neighboring island of Torseau enforced similar limits on moped rentals and saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. But the editor does not evaluate the other resons which could have lead to 50% less accidents. Even he does not provide any absoute value on which the data of 50% has been calculated. Their is no strong evidence that the reduced number of accidents were due to lesser mopeds rentals, rather the reason for less accidents could be that the island of torseau is a small one and therefore less number of toursists come there during summer and because its a small island so people usually dont lend mopeds but are more comfortable in walking.

Last but not the least, the editot says that by adopting the same measures as adopted by torseau would lead to decrease number of accidents in balmer as well. He has compared the Balmer island with Torseau island without providing any information on which basis the two islands are compared. Its like comparing an ant with an anpple. Moreover the editor says that the population of balmer increases to 1 lakh during summer and does not say anything about the population of torseau. So there is no guarentee that incorporating the changes done by torseau island would lead to a decrease in accidents in balmer as well. Also since the data of reduced accidnets is of previous years it cannot be fully trusted as maybe the previous year lesser number of toursits visited torseau thus the accidents rate were reduced and it has nothing to do with lesser number of moped rentals.

Had the editor provided the article with more data and facts, the conclusions drawn would have been more convincing. But in light of the above evidences it can clearly be seen that the editor has jumped from one point of conclusion to another without connecting the dots and underming the bleak lines. Thus the editors view lacks a perspective and remains unconvincing.