Analytical Writing Assessment Question

People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People's behavior are largely determined by forces not of their own making. This may be absolutely true for someone who does not know how to put their own stand and the ones who have a very weak decision making power and is often infunced by the sayings of people even if its not in their favour, instead of believing on their own potential and hard work.

But someone who is strong minded and determined, someone who has a firm foundation of their thought processes and the ones who are often refered to as the revolutionizers, this statement is anything but true.

People are often put down by negative criticism and thus usually change their paths and always move in those conventional routes. But this is not always the case, there are several examples from india and abroad which clearly demonstrates that even with negative criticism the strong headed people are rarely distracted, Moreover even negative criticism provides them with nothing but motivation.

Before India became a nuclear super power, the whole world was collaborating to stop india from testing its nuclear power in pokhran. Mockingly and with suitable actions, USA tried everything to stop india from the nuclear test in pokhran. There were a lot of internal political tensions as well, even the leaders were under pressure to stop the pokhran test by hook or by crook. But despite of all these external forces, the team of the engineers and scientists never allowed all these external forces to determine their behaviour, actions and mind set.

Ignoring all these factors like they dont exist, the team tested the nuclear power in pokhran and achieved success in their first attempt. Once they acieved success then it was sufficient to be an idol for the fact that people's behavior are not determined by external forces but are determined by their own decisions.

Moving on, when india was about to launch their first satellite, their were lot of international powers and organisations who undermined and doubted the capabilities of the indian scientists. But despite of all the negative reviews, with no proper launching location and proper guidance, india did launch its first satellite, carrying it in a cycle and launched it from a field. The limited resources and others views of doubt and criticism never became a hurdle soo huge to stop the determined scientist from achieving success. It is evident from this fact that others opinions and factors never become a stoping barrier for the strong minded.

All these examples are not only limited to india, when Elon musk first talked about the self driving cars he was hugely mocked and chastised. But he never allowed these views and unasked opinions to stop him from achieving what he desired.

All these factors are enough to show that people's behavior is not largely determined by forces not of their own making. Rather its their own thought process which guides them through all the ups and downs that come along the way.

But some time, I agree that external factors are so strong that they handicap you form becoming the driver of your own work. But one should always focus on their own making rather then being influenced by what people say.