People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

The passage says that human behaviors are defined by external factors, not by one’s own decision. It is true that everyone has a right to decide what is the best for oneself and sometimes it may be the most significant factor, but there are laws and rules that define the legal boundaries of people’s actions and many external elements that affect how to behave.

Admittedly, a person has a privilege to make his or her own decisions when it’s necessary and the personal inclination or set of values may have the most significant influence on the decision-making process. For example, the law prohibits driving under the influence of any circumstances. However, there are many people disregard the law and drink and drive. Everyone is aware of the consequences of driving under the influence if the one gets caught; yet, people ultimately make the decision of doing it.

Although people still flout the law when they behave, the law is still the most forceful guideline for people to determine the ones’ behavior. Even though you are capable of doing something, that doesn’t necessarily mean that you are allowed to do it and the law would be the great tool to see whether an action is legitimate or not. The law is being enforced by police and anyone who violates will be punished by the law. The law is the most compelling reason for a person not to attempt to steal something doesn’t belong to him or her. For example, the bank didn’t care enough to give out a mortgage loan to someone who didn’t have enough income; however, after the crisis in 2009, new regulation of the screening procedure about the loan applicants was set up and the bank may get punished if the bank failed to comply.

Since humans are social animals live in the community with others, social and environmental factors exist around people that influence on people’s behavior. Consciously and unconsciously people around one human being are significantly influential on his or her daily life. During childhood, you are likely doing what your friends do and it’s called peer pressure. When you decide a major for the college or a job, you may consult with your parents or teachers among other people. Moreover, people are often affected by media, such as TV. For example, according to the recent study, TV commercial for the is the most convincing election advertisement method to explain the candidate’s pledges and ask to vote for the candidate. The reason why millions of dollars are being spent on TV commercials during the election season is that people are easily influenced by those.

To sum up, I do agree with the author’s statement that the external factors have more influence than the internal one when he or she determines how to behave. It is true that one’s behavior is defined by an individual decision; there is no doubt about that. However, it is also true that no one is free from the influences of other people or circumstances and they are more powerful when a person decides one’s behavior.