"A recent national survey found that the majority of workers with access to the Internet at work had used company computers for personal or recreational activities, such as banking or playing games. In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Using electronic monitoring software is the best way to reduce the number of hours Climpson employees spend on personal or recreational activities. We predict that installing software to monitor employees' Internet use will allow us to prevent employees from wasting time, thereby increasing productivity and improving overall profits."

In this argument, the vice president of HR department asserts that monitoring employees’ internet use will increase efficacy as well as overall profit by restricting personal use of company computers. However, the argument depends on several unsubstantiated assumptions and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

First, the vice president assumes that implementing the monitoring system of internet use from the company workstations will increase the employees’ efficiency. It may be somewhat effective to control internet activities using the company computer. However, it is also possible that this measure causes a reaction of encouraging workers to use their smartphone or tablet PC instead of workstations for internet during the work time and the company has no control of it. Because of the monitoring system, the overall time employee spend for personal matter may increase; thus, the measure may damage the company’s profitability even further.

Second, the argument cited that installing software is the best way to monitor the employees’ inappropriate internet use. There are a few things about the software that the company needs to consider. A substantial amount of expense is necessary either the company buys the software from a third-party provider or it implements its own system. The company should compare the cost of the software with the potential profit made by using it to monitor employees’ internet activities. Besides, the software does not have a feature to decide which activities are allowed but have a list of sites which it needs to block the access. For example, an employee visits Amazon.com to buy office supplies; however, the software blocks the access because the site was categorized as a shopping site. The software impedes a workflow by doing what it was designed for.

Lastly, the vice president asserts that unnecessary time that employees spent on personal and recreational activities is the only factor that damages the company’s productivity. It might be more correct if the exhaustive review should be performed for the entire company to determine what really brings down the efficiency of the company. The damages on the productivity were done by inessential steps in decision-making processes, or probably by wasting a large amount of money on stationery items in the offices. It is hard to conclude that the personal use of workstations by an employee is the reason for the low productivity with given evidence.

In conclusion, the argument fails to provide enough evidence for using software that monitors employees’ internet use from company workstation will increase the company’s efficacy and thus, its profit because it primarily relies on the weak assumptions and insufficient grounds mentioned above. Since the argument does not present reliable data on a correlation between personal internet use and the company’s productivity, the mechanism how the monitoring software works, and other factors may bring down the efficiency, it lacks logical reasoning and evidence.