"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author indicated that shortens the work hours in three shifts could cut the on-the-job accidents effectively based on the comparison of the company nearby and the experts’ words. Although the evidence seems plausible, the author’s conclusions were potentially based on several assumptions, which when considered, if against the reality will damage the argument instead of strengthening it.

While the Quiot company had 30 percent of accidents in the last year, the data could not successfully represent the accidents happened more frequent unless we know the data about its history. Moreover, the author did not mention the Panoply Industries’ condition. However, as the basic fact which directly leads to the conclusion, the assumption lying in here is 30 percent means very high when compared the Quiot’s history, and even higher than the Panoply Company’s accident in the past year. Furthermore, the high accidents rate in the past year attributes to the one-hour-long work shift, which is the reason why the nearby company had fewer accidents rate. If all these assumptions mentioned and approved by the author, the conclusion can be regarded as reliable. However, none of them were mentioned. Therefore, the reasons that Quiot to learn from the nearby company are questionable.

Also, although the expert’s suggestion that the worker in sleep deprivation condition will increase the possibility of accidents when working, it does not necessarily mean the Quiot Company has the same problem in their workers. The author did not exclude the other situation affected the safety system. For example, many accidents happened because the workers in Quiot Company lacking skills and safety knowledge, then the first option to prevent the dangerous occurring again should have seminars and training section as an emergency instead of letting workers work less.

Last but not least, the the reason to change three shifts at one time is unwarranted, and even dangerous if put into practice immediately because without offering any evidence that the three shifts are the major reasons and changing it will not disturb other worker’s schedule, the conclusion will not only generate more accidents but also put other workers in related positions in dangerous situations too.

Therefore, even though the conclusion based on the data in the past years, the experts’ opinions, and the care to the workers, the suggestion is unreliable when taking a closer look. Unless we know the nearby company’s condition the comparison is unreasonable. Also, we need to know the experts’ suggestions and shifts changes are suitable in this situation.