"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The explanations in the letter to a scientific journal have many deflects when establishing the connection between the findings and the conclusion, which led to the letter fall in unreliable. The author did not mention the situation and conditions of the experiment to the monkey, ignored the possibility that to compare the outcome of monkeys to human infants, and mistakenly mentioned in the pregnancy period, the hormone affects the first-time baby and mother as additional evidence to prove the finding.

Primarily, the monkeys which under the observation are too less to be a reliable resource supporting the finding. In normal scientific research, the sample should large enough to tolerant the err and represent enough to the point where including the major possible factors and assumptions. However, in the letter, there is no such data can convince the sample of monkeys are reliable and can be trusted in the observation. Given the idea that the 18 first-born monkeys can represent the whole groups would be rough and deflect the real findings. Besides, even had the monkey’s number is reliable and large enough, the weather and situation of the monkey’s living environment are very significant and would affect the outcome too. Monkeys living in the mountain and living in the zoo, or the research institution are very different. In this case, the mother monkeys who given the first-born baby were living in a wild environment where can attribute the alert character of the first baby monkey, and when delivering the second baby were living in an easygoing environment where never need to avoid predators therefore not as alert at the first baby. Therefore the case can be a confirmation that the living environment of mothers can change the character of their babies, instead of the sequence of giving birth.

Furthermore, the comparison of monkey and human is problematic because the living condition and physical function are very different between them. Even the monkey does share similarity when human, using the finding data to conclude human is a mistake. Instead, the human infants have many ways to explain, for example, how many of them, how much weight of them, and their gender, could be very different. Similarly, the monkey babies need to be deliberately compared in the monkey group too. Therefore, the data mentioned to a human baby cannot be trusted.

Lastly, the author mentioned the hormone level in first monkeys during in pregnancy are high therefore hint at the hormone passing to the first baby are level were completely wrong. The monkey mothers’ living condition and the gene from the monkey fathers are two factors which should reconsider.

All in all, the finding in the letter based on the observation and data of baby monkey and their monkey’s hormone connection are discredited. Without knowing the information of monkey groups in detail and introduction of the strict observation condition, the finding cannot be trusted.