Essay topics: The regional brand manager sent the following memo to the national brand manager for Sun-Beem Facial Cleanser.

“We need to institute a huge publicity campaign for the launch of Sun-Beem’s improved formula. Without an enormous media blitz, including television, radio, internet, and magazine ads, potential new customers will not be aware of our product. And previous customers will not be aware that Sun-Beem’s new, non-carcinogenic formula is on the shelves. The best way to combat the negative publicity Sun-Beem’s old formula received is to fight fire with fire, by using the media’s insatiable interest in any new news about Sun-Beem to sell the new formula. This will erase the negative connotations in the minds of former customers, and will ensure that Sun-Beem is once again the best-selling facial cleanser on the market.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The argument is about the publicity campaign of Sun-Beem's facial cleanser new formula and reclaims the old position in the market. The argument is unwarranted and flawed for the following reasons.

First of all, the author assumed that by the publicity they regain the trust of their old customers and attract more customers and erase the denounce against them. The author though does not provide any relevant data that provides where the fault was or how many customers complaints against them. It might be possible that customers do not complain about against the quality of the facial cleanser, they complain against the price or other things. The author should have surveyed the view of customers and collect the data before the launch of an improved formula. It might be possible that customers do not want improved cleanser. There is already facial cleanser with the same formula.

Besides, the author does not provide any explanations that, the cleanser is actually improved. As there is no scientific data that prove that the improved formula is actually better than another facial cleanser. It might be possible that the new formula not suitable for many customers. It might be possible that the position of the company actually bottoms on the market even with their other products.

The author provides another claim that by huge publicity they can erase the negative connotation and can increase the new customers. It is a flawed assumption because without a proper survey it is impossible to know what consumers want from the market. It is unwise to assume such position and can actually lose more customers. The author should have mentioned what negative publicity happened against them. It might be possible that the new improved formula has the same flawed as the previous one.

The argument is flawed and based on unwarranted reasons. The argument has failed to provide and feasible conclusion or convincing data that proved that the huge publicity of the improved formula can help them to regain the position and also erase the negative connotations.